Plans Don’t Always Work Out

I had a grand vision of people crowding the gym and out into the parking lot. Chaos. Barbells and bumper plates scattered. Sweat. Conversations coming in all sorts of directions. But alas my vision didn’t come out like I wanted it to. Little speed bumps in the road straight ahead and there was nothing I could do about it but adjust to what was coming.
I tend to think big, much bigger than others… whether its something on my bucket list or an event I want to create. Some people may think its silly or ridiculous but if you don’t try then you won’t ever know. And we all have to start somewhere, have many trial and errors, learn from it, and then proceed forward to make it better.
My vision for this weekend’s Iron Man event didn’t play out like I wanted it to. Someone asked me earlier if it was at least somewhat successful. I paused. Took a brief moment to think about it, and nodded my head yes. It wasn’t exactly how I wanted it, but this is only the beginning of many series of events. It’s like playing a rugby game when the first half is slow as heck and it takes a good knock on your ass to get things going.
Although there were a few handful of people there, I could see that it affected everyone in a good way. I think it made some people realize that they were out of shape and now want to start getting back in the gym and working out. I also know that it opened up a few minds of typical gym go-ers to try and be open to other types of workouts. I saw people getting to know each other. I saw teamwork and encouragement amongst everyone, working together to finish the workouts. I saw committment from a few people, knowing what they signed up for, knowing that the workouts were tough, but still willing and wanting to finish the workout. So even after all the stress of planning and changing and dealing with people for this event… seeing all of this in the end is definitely worth it.
So I’m going to make this short and sweet… just because plans don’t always work out the way you want them to, doesn’t mean that it isn’t or won’t be successful. You learn to adapt with what’s thrown at you along the way, and if you commit to it, with time, patience, and perserverance, it will eventually work out. Never quit.

Leave a Reply

