A Trainer’s Motivation

My Workout of the Day:
Strength:
Floor Press 5-5-3-3-2-1 (1RM @ 100lbs *PR)
Dumbbell Thrusters (15lbs) + Box Jumps: 21, 15, 9, 3 reps
MetCon:
Run 800m – Rest 2 mins
Run 400m – Rest 1 mins
Run 200m – Rest 30 sec
Run 400m – Rest 30 sec
Run 800m – Rest 1 mins

Running, my least favorite thing to do. Anyone else?? Yep, knew I had someone’s attention. I knew ahead of time what was planned before I came to the class. For a brief second I even hesitated to go. But I knew the only way I’d want to do something I disliked was to just suck it up and go. So I did.
The pressure.
The motivation.
The drive.
The goal.
Ever wondered how trainers get motivated?
1. Sometimes it’s through other trainers. Fitness enthusiasts are always helping each other and encouraging each other. One of the reasons why I’m in this industry. Everyone’s positive and loves a challenge.
2. Sometimes it’s through the surrounding environment. Next time you’re in a gym or working out, try it alone and then try it with others around you. Typically we push ourselves harder when surrounded by other motivated individuals. ย Especially if you’re next to the chick with a 6-pack.
3. Sometimes it’s through our own clients (little do they realize). When I see my clients try their best and work hard, it definitely motivates me to want to stay on top of my game. Then eventually a bond is developed and stories are shared that make you realize how strong they really are. Physically and mentally.
4. And sometimes it’s through ourselves within. As I was running, I told myself in my head to just keep going, don’t stop, that I could do it, and that I NEED to do it. That passion to accomplish a goal and improve is definitely an important factor. The hardest part I believe, is that tiny little phase where we go from thinking about doing something to actually doing something. Sometimes you just have to talk yourself into getting past that phase. Need some accountability? Tell your friends to help you out. Once you’re able to get past that then things usually get better. So when that time comes where you think about exercising but can’t get yourself motivated… don’t even think about it and just go. No one’s making you go at a high intensity or to the point of throwing up, as long as you do it to the best of your ability, that’s what matters at the end of the day.
Peace. Love. Fitness.

Leave a Reply

