PeAcE OuT Knoxville!

Saying goodbye or see ya later is never easy even when you think it would be. It’s almost my time to depart Knoxville and so I’ve been finalizing everything around here with work and such. I said my farewells to some of my clients and turned in my key at work today. It was kind of a bitter-sweet feeling as I said bye to them because I realized that I’ve become somewhat attached to them. I was sadden by the fact that I would no longer be training them. To see individuals strive to become healthier, stronger, more fit, and just better overall, and to know that I had a hand in that is an unfathomable feeling that makes me absolutely love what I do. Yes they’ve frustrated me, yes I’ve had my days where I didn’t want to be there, and yes they’ve even pissed me off…. but those little moments will never surpass the overall picture of their dedication to show up every day with me and entrust in me to help them achieve their goals. And their mental/physical results prove it. Gaaahhh, this is tough.
Thinking back of my conversations with some of them, I’ve definitely learned alot and I think it’s helped me grow as an individual. Many of my clients here were of the older population so I’ve had an earful. Hearing their stories, knowing some of the things they’ve been through, and even being there in the present time where they are going through a tough time has made me want to become a stronger person and to strive through life to the best of my abilities.
I’ve always said that when you think you are having a bad time… there are always others out there who are far worse than where you currently are. So be blessed.
I MUST brag about one of my clients. We’ll call her Mrs. C. So Mrs. C is in her 60’s and has a horrible cricking sound in her knee every time she does some sort of squat. I always secretly squinch my face because I hate those noises in anyone. (I shudder to think.) When I first began training her, we could only do basic, easy movements to develop her balance and strength. We also trained only once a month so seeing improvements was difficult. Then we discovered we could play ‘catch up’ with her sessions and began a once a week regiment. I began to notice how quickly she adapted to my workouts and how much stronger she became. So I decided to have a little fun and incorporate exercises that I usually like to do with the younger more fit crowd. Next thing you know she’s doing kettlebell swings, med ball slams, intermediate TRX exercises, compound movements, etc. It was like she was 30 again! She definitely is my top favorite client because although she’s a bit older, she would challenge herself, never complain, and was always positive when I saw her. It’s people like that who make me appreciate life and just smile.
I really hope that I’ve positively impacted at least 1 person here in Knoxville. If I’ve done that, then I believe my mission is accomplished and so it’s time for me to move on. I’m not exactly sure where this next move will take me, but my gut tells me that it’s the right thing to do.
I’m hoping to land a full-time job with benefits soon. So if there are any head honchos out there reading this and would like to offer me a full-time fitness industry related job then feel free to give me a holler!!! (hint hint, wink wink)
To the ones who have given the opportunity to work, teach, coach, mentor, supervise, council, or even just be a friend here in this wonderful city… I want to say thank you for trusting me to do so.
It’s never really “goodbye,” more like “see ya later.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

