Recovery with Nutrition

Okay so it has been about 4 days since I’ve worked out or done any type of exercise since playing rugby. My body had been in recovery mode and it seriously hurts when I lift my arms up to do anything such as picking up an object or even opening the door. Something is wrong. It’s mainly around my serratus anterior and outer lats. I’ve been foam rolling it to get into the deep muscle tissue and even using the good ol’ tennis ball trick. I can feel a knot being rolled over when I use that. Hopefully it will eventually subside. If not, then I’m just fucked.

During my “recovery” days I don’t want to gain any weight or lose any muscle mass. Proper nutrition can keep your body functioning just right while allowing your body to heal. Don’t get me wrong, I’m no nutrition expert here, but it should be common sense to know that eating the right foods at the right time will help with the recovery process. First of all, determine your daily caloric expenditure. How much you burn throughout the day is how about how much you are able to intake without gaining weight. You’ve heard the common saying, if you consume more calories than you expend then you’ll gain weight. Well, its true… nothing to pick at that, it’s right in front of your face. For example if your daily expenditure is 1800 calories (on an average day without working out) and you consume 2200 calories then you have excess calories in your system—-> which causes you to gain weight. But say you consume 1700 calories then you could lose weight because you’re burning more than your intake.
So what kind of foods should you eat that would be beneficial to you?
-Protein – it takes more energy for the body to digest protein therefore your metabolism will be constantly working; protein will also keep your muscles intact
-whole foods such as vegetables, fruits, whole grains
-water – water carries your important nutrients to all your body parts
Avoid processed foods, refined foods, fried foods…. obviously those things aren’t healthy for you and won’t help with the recovery process but will only add non-nutrient densed calories in your system… which does NOTHING for you.
Knowing the right time and how much to eat is important as well. Eating 5-6 meals a day will constantly keep your metabolism running. According to an article in WebMD.com, metabolism “involves a complex network of hormones and enzymes that not only convert food into fuel but also affect how efficiently you burn that fuel.”
I’ll use myself as an example…. I’ve been doing the 5-6 meals a day thing and can feel when it’s been about 2 hours that I need to eat again. Doing so will constantly keep my metabolism running even if I don’t go workout. And the rate at which we burn our calories due to our metabolism ultimately establishes how quickly we can gain or lose weight.
Okay you’re probably getting bored reading this, so in summary: keep your metabolism running, feed your body for fuel so eat the right foods, and don’t eat more calories than you burn… duh!

Leave a Reply

