Wii Fit – get off your lazy bums!

I’ve read articles discussing everyone’s opinion or research about Nintendo’s Wii Fit and so I thought I’d put in my 2 cents about it. Some people are advocates for it, some not so much, and some are able to find a medium about it when it comes to your health. Personally, I don’t have one because I’ve yet to find the money or time for it. Do I want one? I haven’t really decided yet because I’d rather go to the gym. Some of my friends have it so I’ll probably test it out from them.
I think the Wii Fit is a great idea when you’re dealing with people who are sedentary and are into video gaming, but for people who are already active then I think its a waste of money. I’ve never understood how people can sit for hours on end playing video games… it’s great that we’re able to develop such high technology these days but there’s always a downside to it. In the past, kids used to play by going outside and riding their bikes or playing street basketball. All kids want to do now is get the coolest most expensive video game out there and sit on their asses all day just to play a game. And you wonder why obesity is on the rise among children… not to mention that we’re in an economic crisis so budgets are being cut and P.E. is probably being taken out of the curriculum! I’m not saying that the Wii Fit is bad… look a few sentences up, I said it’s a great idea for sedentary people, but it’s pretty sad that we’ve had to come to this point where we’ve got to create games for people just to become more active.
I do like the fact that the Wii Fit is able to give you your BMI, fitness level, etc. It may not be 100% accurate, but I believe that it’s a start in learning how to determine those facts. It’s good to know how to gather your BMI, how to use it, and what category you fall in (although this may vary if you’re an athlete). It’s a start in trying to get people more active, but if you’re already active then playing Wii Fit definitely won’t take the place of going to the gym or going out to do whatever sport or recreational activity you normally do. This kind of reminds me of the game Dance Dance Revolution. Again, the game gets you moving and are able to have fun instead of sitting down and twittering your thumbs. High five to the person who thought of the idea of creating games that get you moving… you can’t really make someone become more active if they don’t want to. So the Wii Fit, created to get people off their ass and DO SOMETHING! I wonder what’s next…

BMI: Body Mass Index
-calculated by squaring your height in inches
-divide weight by height squared
-multiply result by 703 which = BMI

BMI
18.5 or less Underweight
18.5 – 24.9 Normal
25.0- 29.9 Overweight
30.0 – 34.9 Obese
35.0 – 39.9 Obese
40.0 or greater Extremely Obese

Leave a Reply

