New Book– So Far So Good

I bought The Body Fat Solution by Tom Venuto, yesterday and started to read it. So far it’s pretty interesting. I like how it focuses on the mentality of our habits when it comes with food, diet, and exercise. I picked it up because it’s got some pretty good reviews and I myself feel like I’m stuck in a rut as of lately dealing with my diet. So hopefully if it’s as good as people are making out to be then it’ll help me out a bit. I’m not gonna go into detail about the book, I’ve only read about 2 chapters so far, but I’d like to highlight 1 part because as I was reading it, I thought to myself, “That is soo my situation right there.” The first chapter gives problems to why we have excess body fat and gives a new way of understanding for the solution. One of the problems that I found interesting was “Negative Environment and Social Pressure.” It’s soo hard to keep a healthy diet when everyone around me loooves to eat junk food (ie, double cheese burgers & Chinese). We normally have get-togethers through going out to eat and drink at like Chili’s or something of that nature. I can normally do good when my friends and I go out to eat. Like I’ll get salad with dressing on the side and pick protein items instead of everything else. But on the weekends we tend to drink… ALOT. Especially after rugby games… hell, even when there isn’t a game we’ll get together and drink… ALOT. My issue is that once I start drinking, by the end of the night I get hungry… or I’ll need to eat something to soak up the alcohol. (I’m a lightweight.) That’s when my decision to eat healthy flies out the window like a bat out of a cave. So the author’s solution to my problem: “Positive Environment and Social Support.” I need to tell my friends to not let me make bad decisions after a night out of drinking. Surround myself with like-minded people or who want to live a healthy lifestyle as well.
No, it won’t be easy. Yes, it will be extremely hard.
But after my last blog, which describes how I slipped up with my diet, I am starting a new workout program I found in the latest issue of Muscle & Fitness Magazine AND I am starting to record my caloric intake, making sure I meet a certain deficit each day. Probably around 200 to 300 calories. Nothing too much because I workout like crazy: 6 days out of week hitting the weights hard plus 2 nights of rugby practice per week for 2 hours a night. That’s alot compared to your average person who goes to the gym. I’m also doing the new program so I don’t overtrain myself and get bored. This program lasts for 4 weeks I think, with a goal to lose about 10 lbs. I think that’s right but I could be wrong, can’t quite remember exactly and I don’t have the magazine in front of me. But, that is the name of the game and my new goal.

Leave a Reply

